Top 5 Wednesday | Second Book is Best

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly challenge for book bloggers, vloggers, and book lovers, hosted by Lainey and Sam. The goal is to choose their top 5 picks for the week’s given challenge. Find out more on the  Goodreads group page!

Hey there! I’m sorry it’s been so long. I got Swimmer’s Ear, a stomach bug, a sore throat, and then ended up having an allergic reaction to all of the medicine they prescribed me (thanks, world). Anyway, I’m finally feeling like myself again, so here’s my Top 5 Wednesday over series with an amazing middle.

VAMPIRE ACADEMY // SHATTER ME // PERCY JACKSON AND THE OLYMPIANS // HEROES OF OLYMPUS // THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS

5 – Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

I’m probably not qualified enough to say that this series is the best in the middle since I still have the last book or so left to read, but this series is the best in the middle. The first book was kind of meh. It didn’t really have much character development or actual plot. The middle really shows how the characters grow and develop, and Mead’s writing feels much more advanced after the first two.

4 – Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

I need to shut up about Shatter Me, honestly.

The first book was AMAZING. It was fun, exciting, something new, and quick. The third book, Ignite Me, is practically one of my favorite books ever. I loved the relationships, the writing, the style, just everything…but Unravel Me. Ignite Me is definitely my favorite, but the second book still gives me so many emotions. I’ve read it over a few times, and every time I get toward the end, the opinions and memories just boil up. It’s great.

3 – Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

Yooo, first time I’ve mentioned a Rick series, but I love his books wayyyyy too much. I’ve only read PJO and HOO, but I can’t wait to pick up his other books. Anyway, I definitely loved the first book, The Lightning Thief, and The Last Olympian was an AMAZING ending, but I still love the middle books so much. The most memorable part of the series for me will always be the Hoover Dam jokes, the little “kiss” in the fourth book, and all of the fun characters that come in during this time. If you haven’t read this series, it’s another one that I highly recommend.

2 – Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

In my opinion, this series didn’t a very strong beginning or ending like the Percy Jackson and the Olympus series had. I thought that Jason and Piper were kind of annoying in the first book (the only reason I truly read it was because of Leo Valdez and the Roman themes), and the last book just wasn’t memorable at all. I did LOVE the middle portion—the third and fourth book, especially. I loved the reuniting of Annabeth and Percy, the point of view from Nico that we got (and the news we learned about him towards Percy oh mY GOSH), and the strong character development we got toward the middle. I don’t know if I liked this series more than the first one, but I still recommend it.

1 – The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

If you’ve read this series or even the first few books, you would know that Clare’s writing gets MONUMENTALLY better in the middle books. I liked portions of City of Bones, but overall, it was my least favorite in the series. As for City of Heavenly Fire, I don’t remember it too well. I read it in about two days, so that might’ve contributed to that, but still. I only remember the cave scene (*awkward blush*), the scene where straight people get roasted by Alec after that moment with Sizzy (*further awkward blush*), and the very end. I read the middle books in a span of probably a week, and I remember a good portion of them. They were more memorable, more powerful, and just overall better.

Anyway, these were my books for this week! If you guys have any thoughts on these books, let me know in the comments. As always, I would love to hear your opinions on any of these books. Also, if you’ve done this Top Five Wednesday, let me know! I’d love to read what you guys think. Thanks for reading!

Side note: I’m sorry for being inactive recently, but I’m going to try to keep up the Wednesday/Sunday posts I had going. School starts for me on August 18th (and I’ve yet to read my Lord of the Flies), so it might get ruined around that time as I adjust, but I promise I’ll be back ASAP if that happens.

Adieu,

Mia

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Second Book is Best

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

