The Book Sacrifice Tag

Hello! If you guys haven’t seen it around, The Book Sacrifice Tag is a book tag (woah) created by the lovely Ariel Bissett over on Youtube. Basically, you get different scenarios, and for each one, you have to think of a book to go with it.

FANGIRL // CROSSED // THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING EARNEST // CARAVAL

An Over-Hyped book:

Let’s start this off with a Zombie Apocalypse! Let’s say you’re in a book store, just browsing, when BAM! ZOMBIE ATTACK. An announcement comes over the PA System saying that the military has discovered that the zombies’ only weakness is over-hyped books. What book that everyone else says is amazing but you really hated do you start chucking at the zombies knowing that it will count as an over-hyped book and successfully wipe them out?!

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

The hype has kind of calmed down with this one, but I still hear some hype here and there about Rowell’s Fangirl. Basically, my experience with this book is like someone saying that some fancy, expensive restaurant is worth your time and money, then going there and wishing you went to some fast food chain. This book is so over discussed and over rated. Honestly, it just bored me. Sure, it was kind of “cute” at times, but overall, this book is a pretty pathetic excuse for what many people say it is. I went into this book expecting a lot, and I was extremely disappointed with it, even to the point that I just didn’t finish it. (Lowkey,  I couldn’t finish Eleanor & Park, either. I think it’s just her writing that bores/bothers me.)

A Sequel:

Let’s say you’ve just left the salon with a SMASHING new haircut and BOOM: Torrential downpour. What sequel are you willing to use as an umbrella to protect yourself?

Crossed by Ally Condie

Crossed is one of those books that I wasn’t sure how to feel. It’s definitely been a few years since I’ve read it, so I don’t remember everything, but I remember that this trilogy was kind of… just meh. I think the concept is okay, but Condie’s style is annoying. I expected a lot more action, but instead I got some weird poetry that wasn’t even great. I think I read this book at a time/age that I just didn’t understand it or feel it.

A Classic:

Let’s say you’re in a lecture and your English teacher is going on and on about how this classic changed the world, how it revolutionized literature and you get so sick of it that you chuck the classic right at his face because you know what? This classic is stupid and it’s worth detention just to show everyone how you feel! What Classic did you chuck?

The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde

This is the worst play I’ve ever read. In my freshman year, I took a drama class that required us to read a play every quarter. We did The Crucible, The Odd Couple, A Raisin in the Sun, and finally, The Importance of Being Earnest. Now, The Crucible was the only one I loved, and the others were very… *heavy sigh* Earnest was the worst of the worst. I can’t believe that I actually found something that I hated more than The Great Gatsby (which is my second least favorite classic). Both of my high school’s drama teachers were constantly hyping it up, saying that it’s Wilde’s best piece, and that it’s a pure work of genius. No. No, no, no, no. This play is freaking awful. The plot is trash, the writing is trash, the characters are trash. I understand it’s supposed to be satire, but it just didn’t work for me. I can see why some people might find something to love about this play, but I am definitely not one of those people. I’m so happy I read it online, or else I would’ve thrown it across the room or burned it on multiple occasions. I hate it. I hate everything about this play.

Your least favourite book of life:

Let’s say that you’re hanging out at the library when BAM global warming explodes and the world outside becomes a frozen wasteland. You’re trapped and your only chance for survival is to burn a book. What is the book you first run to, your least favourite book of all life, what book do you not fully regret lighting?

Caraval by Stephanie Garber 

I listened to Caraval sometime in May, and a lot of people were hyping it up. Hell, was hyping it up. I was so ready for this book. The cover is gorgeous, the book itself smelled amazing (leave me alone, you know that new book smell is fabulous), I had heard amazing things about Garber, and I was just pumped.

This book is actually a combination of some of the worst things I’ve ever hated in books.

The plot and writing were terrible, irritating, and unoriginal, the characters were annoying,  and there are so many things that I morally disagree with. First, on the plot, it was a train wreck. Garber added too many turns that, at first, made me feel okay. Y’know? Like they weren’t too overdone, they were just kinda there. Then, she added more… and more… and she kept pushing it. I’m sorry, but if your book has about 100 plot twists that aren’t even decent, you need to chill. Not only this, but the characters are incredibly too whiny. The only character I kind of liked was Julian, and he was still a piece of trash. As for the writing, Garber practically forces it to sound like The Great Gatsby… but surprisingly worse, if that’s even possible (I’m sorry I keep trashing Gatsby). And the moral stuff…. I’m not even going to go there right now.

If you want to know what I really thought about this book, read my review over Caraval here.

Thank you for reading my quick rant over books that annoy me! If you’ve read any of these books, feel free to tell me what you thought of them in the comments. If you do this tag or if you have done it, feel free to tag me in your post or let me know in the comments so I can read your opinions.

Adieu,

Mia

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

