Top 5 Wednesday | Children’s Books

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly challenge for book bloggers, vloggers, and book lovers, hosted by Lainey and Sam. The goal is to choose their top 5 picks for the week’s given challenge. Find out more on the  Goodreads group page!

SMALL AS AN ELEPHANT // INSIDE OUT AND BACK AGAIN // WONDER // THE GRAVEYARD BOOK // THE CHRONICLES OF VLADIMIR TOD

Heyo! The prompt for this week’s Top 5 Wednesday is “Children’s Books”. I never really read that many children/middle grade books as a kid, because I started reading YA in like the fourth grade, but these are my favorites out of all of the ones I remember.

5 – Small as an Elephant by Jennifer Richard Jacobson

I don’t quite remember when I “read” (listened) to this book, but I do remember snippets here and there.  This eleven year old kid is abandoned by his mother at a camp site, and the book follows him trying to make it back home alone. His favorite animal is an elephant, which comes in to play later on in the book. Overall, I think this book would’ve gone by faster had I been reading it by myself, but since it was my middle school reading teacher speaking, it was kind of difficult to remember and understand (sorry, Mrs. B.).

4 – Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai

This is a book that I decided to randomly pick up from the library in early 2014, so back when I was in the sixth grade. I would take it everywhere with me. Like, lowkey, there are pictures of me with this book after eating some weird lemon stuff from a restuarant on my sister’s Facebook. Anyway, I think the thing I loved most about this book is that it’s a historical fiction written in verse, which is something that I’ve never picked up. It took me less than a day to read it. Basically, it’s about this girl who lived in Vietnam during the war, and after it spread to her home, her family fled to the United States. The story follows her experiences in Alabama (where they now live), such as her attempts at learning English and trying to fit in.

3 – Wonder by R.J. Palacio

I read this book in December 2015, so during the eighth grade, and it’s another one that I read in one day. I was having kind of a rough day, and this book entirely swooped me out of the slump I was having. It’s about a young boy named Auggie who has a facial abnormality. It’s about his experiences of starting school for the very first time and being bullied. This book was beautifully written, and it grasped me from them moment I started. (Also, it made me cry, which I’m totally blaming on the rough day.)

2 – The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

I absolutely friggin’ love this book. Neil Gaiman is a genius, and I wish I had read more of his books when I was a kid. It’s about a young boy named Nobody Owens whose family is killed by a man named Jack at the very beginning of the book. Bod manages to escape as a small toddler, and is then raised in a graveyard, taught and influenced by ghosts. He lives within the graveyard, and is forced to stay there. This all goes downhill when he reunites with a childhood friend, Scarlett, who visited the graveyard.

1 – The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod by Heather (now Zac) Brewer

There are so many things I have to say about not only this series, but about Zac himself. I read The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod when I was younger, and to this day, it’s still one of my favorite series of all time. It’s practically like my Harry Potter (but not). The series is about a boy named Vladimir Tod—who would’ve guessed—who lives with his Aunt Nelly. His parents were killed, and he spends his time trying to figure out who killed them. The catch? He’s a vampire. While trying to discover the issues with his parents, Vladimir is being bullied and chased by a vampire hunter. As a kid, I found everything about this series so catchy: the writing style, the plot, the characters… Not only that, but Zac Brewer is one of my biggest role models. He’s the reason I love writing so much, the reason I was so excited to dye my hair purple for the first time, the reason I love reading, the reason I’m not afraid to be myself, and so many more things.

Anyway, thank you so much for reading! Let me know down in the comments if you’ve read any of these books and what you thought of them, or if you want to know anything else about them! If you have a few children/middle grade books that you want to share, feel free to join the fun on the Goodreads group page!

Adieu,

Mia

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Children’s Books

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

