Introduction | The Writer’s Tag

Hello! My name is Mia, and this is my very first post on this blog. Instead of doing some random and jumbled introduction, I’ve decided to instead do the Writer’s Tag! I found it from Rebekah at Head In The Clouds, so check out her answers here. Without further introduction, here we go:

What genres, styles, and topics do you write about?

Honestly, the genre I write in really depends on my mood at that moment. My favorites are definitely fantasy and dystopian. I love the idea of creating this wonderful, amazing world, then absolutely destroying it (sorry!). It’s a big stress reliever, it’s fun, and there’s so many things you can do with fantasy!

How long have you been writing?

I’m not even sure, to be frank. I remember sitting down when I was about four, writing random stories that made no sense, and then drawing these terrible covers to go with it. I think it really started around fifth-seventh grade after one of my English teachers made me write a short story and another one made me write essays on the daily. Ever since then, it’s just grown on me.

Why do you write?

I write for dozens of reasons, but the main is probably because of how it makes me feel. Writing always manages to give me this pride, no matter what it’s about. Obviously, there are scenes that I can’t stand after having written it, but there is still this feeling of pride after everything I write. I always remind myself that yo, at least you wrote somethin’. Not only this, but writing is a therapy for me. When I’m mad, I write. When I’m sad, I write. When I’m falling apart, I write. To me, it doesn’t really matter how it turns out at first (that’s why editing is a thing). It just feels good to let everything I’m thinking out, and that’s writing for me.

When is the best time to write?

This depends on the scene I’m writing. For darker scenes, I prefer to have stormy weather or just write at night, but for normal, purer scenes, I usually go for the sunnier days. I would have to say my favorite time to write is during a storm, though.

What parts of writing do you love and hate?

There are very few things about writing that I hate, and they all revolve around being completely inconvenient. It really sucks whenever a good idea comes at school, right before bed, or when I’m mid-conversation. It also sucks when no ideas come out at all.

On the other hand, there are so many things that I absolutely love about writing. I love creating heart-wrenching scenes, insanely witty comments, characters that are relatable, and worlds that are intriguing. I adore the pride that comes with all of those things. I love watching the word count rise. I love practically everything about it—even the outlining and editing.

How do you overcome writer’s block?

I just go on rants. I open a document and start typing about anything. A description, a word, just something random to get it going. Sometimes, it doesn’t work, and I end up journaling to get my thoughts going, but other times, it’s just the key. For me, the only thing I can really do is take a fresh look on what I’m working on.

Are you working on something at the moment?

I’m currently in the process of outlining a work for my July Camp NaNoWriMo. I’ve got just the beginnings ready, but I’m so excited to dive into it. (Lowkey, it’s probably going to have massive Marie Lu vibes since I just finished the Young Elite trilogy, which destroyed me, by the way.)

What are your writing goals this year?

I have two combinations of goals right now:

  1. Edit my 2015 NaNoWriMo novel and write another one or
  2. Write two new complete works.

I haven’t quite decided which one I’m going for yet. I hope to find out soon during July, but for now, I’m kind of at loss.

Anyway, thank you so much if you’ve gotten this far! I really hope to keep posting on this blog, which is going to include topics revolving around journaling, writing, reading, and more. I’m not quite sure of a schedule yet, but I know I’m going to try to post weekly.

That’s it for today! Feel free to do this tag, and link me in it. I’d love to see your responses!

Adieu,

Mia

One thought on “Introduction | The Writer’s Tag

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

